My freezer, my friend

Standard

Let’s face it, we are busy these days. Cooking a big meal every night is not only time consuming but impractical. What I am totally digging is the trend towards once-a-month cooking. Granted you would have to practically spend one weekend in the kitchen to achieve that, but perhaps it’s worth it. Folks are realizing that time can be saved, meals can be healthier (than fast food) and money can be saved all by utilizing that little icebox. My German-born grandmother always called her refrigerator “the icebox”. It had the tiniest freezer. Nowadays our fridges have much bigger freezers to hold all the crap food that is sold in the freezer aisle. Apart from the vegetables, it’s really frozen fast-food.

I can tell you in my freezer you will find some of that frozen crap food (I’ll blame that on my husband:)) but a lot of what you will find is frozen vegetables and frozen portions of foods. I’m a big believer of the “cook once, eat many times” philosophy. I like to cook up batches of brown rice, quinoa, steel-cut oats, soups and chili’s and freeze them for easy re-heating.

Vegan eating is often comprised of “bowls”. A bowl with quinoa, tofu and veggies. Or a bowl of rice, beans and vegan cheese. Either way, since my cooked grains are typically frozen in muffin tins, all I have to do is grab a frozen block of brown rice and re-heat. By the time I’ve prepared my protein source and veggie, the grain is ready!

QuinoaFreeze

Quinoa Before the Freezer

Love doing this with steel-cut oats, they take 30 minutes to cook and I often don’t have time for that. But I do have 2 1/2 minutes which is as long as it takes to reheat in the microwave.

Steel-cut Oats About to be Frozen

Steel-cut Oats About to be Frozen

Leave a Reply

