Where do you get your protein?

Standard

For the vegan this question is as ubiquitous as “which came first, the chicken or the egg?” which quite frankly I could give a shit. But back to protein. This has been a familiar question to me having been a vegetarian for almost 30 years. It shows me how much as a culture we don’t know about nutrition. Not a right or wrong, just is. I’m about to graduate from the Institute for Integrative Nutrition as a Health Coach and although I’ve had an AMAZING experience studying there, I didn’t learn the foundations of nutrition (carbs, fats and protein). Interestingly enough, I’ve learned that in my career working for one of the largest pet food companies in the world. Now before you start getting all over me for working for a pet food company and being a vegan, let’s just remember cats are obligate carnivores. Translation: they have to eat meat. They cannot get the amino acids they require from any combination of plant sources. Dogs, not the case. I know some people who have made their dogs vegan. I don’t know how I feel about that.

So if you too are wondering where I get my protein from, well wonder no more!
Tofu
Tempeh
Seitan
Legumes
Protein powders (I like Garden of Life)
Quinoa
Vegetables (broccoli=45% protein)

Protein in Veggies

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Welcome to “Where’s the Tofu?”! | Where's the Tofu?

Leave a Reply

